Saturday Afternoon at LACMA

On Saturday, I surprised the Teen by taking her to LACMA (Los Angeles County Museum of Art; and it’s pronounced “lack-ma”) to see the Tim Burton Exhibit. My sister met us there too!

She was really excited! She likes Tim Burton a lot, and was “dying” to go. (Espeically once she saw the episode of Cupcake Wars where they made thier display for the opening of the exhibit.)

You can read a little about the exhibit HERE.

Cameras and cell phones were forbidden in the exhibit, so I didn’t get to take any pictures of anything. I would have snuck a few but there were soooo many people and many cranky security guards.  It was very interesting to see his sketches and other art work. I didn’t get to see a lot of it, since I was trying to keep the Maniac entertained and remotely quiet. I must say that was quite a challenge.

After the Tim Burton portion of our day, we wandered over to the La Brea Tar Pits. The first time my sister took the Teen there a few years ago, she didn’t realize that they were real. I had never been there before. We didn’t go to the museum or anything… I don’t think a certain someone would have been up for that.  It was kind of cool to see though.

Then we had some lunch at Baja Fresh and we went back to the museum to look at some more art. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a real Picasso before. It was pretty cool.

I also thought the new Monet/Lichtenstein: Rouen Cathedrals exhibit was interesting.  You can read about that HERE.  I would have to say that Monet is my favorite artist. (Do you say artist? Painter? Impressionist?) I have a few prints of his work hanging up. Waterlilies is my favorite… I know there are a bunch of them.. my very favorite is the one that (when I saw it and it could still be there) was at The Carnegie is Pittsburgh.

Anyway- Here are a few shots of some art that you were allowed to photograph:

My apologies to the artists, since I did not take note of who these works were by.

Here’s some art we got into literally:

And finally… we learned a little about the Chinese Zodiac. 

I am an Ox, The Teen is a Tiger, The Maniac is a Rat and my Sister is a Horse.

 

This one's for you Chickmommy!

We had a pretty good day.

We only got yelled at by security 4 times… no one fell in the fountain or broke any priceless works of art.  I call that successful.

Next time we go, I’m not taking the 3-year-old. 😉
 
And on our way home, we got to swing by the airport and pick up my hubby! Definitely the best part of the day.

Leave a comment