They’re not pretty, but they’re Pierogi- Recipe of the Week #2

On Sunday, in honor of my beloved Pittsburgh Steelers who lost in the most horrible 5 seconds of OT ever… I tried my hand at home made pierogi. (If you don’t know what a pierogi is.. it’s a little dough pillow filled with potatoes, cheese, onion or even sauerkraut. I belive it is a traditionally Polish dish.)

Even though I am 50% polish, I’m pretty sure we never had pierogi at home growing up. But they do remind me of my Pittsburgh roots, which is why I usually to serve them during Steeler games.

Normally I go to the grocery store and buy a box of Mrs. T’s frozen pierogi.. but  I was feeling adventurous.

They are kind of a lot of work, and since I have never even seen someone make them, I was kind of flying blind.

Here is the recipe I found on allrecipes.com: Pierogi

It was the one with the most good reviews that I looked at, and that made the most sense to me. I just used the dough portion of the recipe, and made my own mashed potato filling. Which, I basically just made mashed potatoes like I normally would.

So here’s the before picture. They are not pretty at all. I got the hang of it more as I went on.. the later ones are much better than the first few.

20120108-233625.jpg

Tada! Here they are, cooked with sautéed onions in butter ready to eat! They were surprisingly good!

20120108-233634.jpg

And I actually made 2 new recipes today! We had leftover mashed potatoes so I tried this: Crispy Parmesan Potato Puffs.  Compliments to my sister for finding this one! They didn’t come out as nice as the ones they show on the recipe, but they were tasty!

20120108-233641.jpg

There you have it! I have now tried 2 new recipes in the first 10 days of the year!

🙂

Leave a Reply

