One Super Cranky Mama

Sometime around 6am I heard the magic words “I hava pee Mama!” There was peeing and then I went back to sleep. (I have still been having trouble falling asleep, it was about 1 by the time I dozed off.)

An hour later, I was very, very rudely awakened  by a certain three-year-old whacking me in the face with a stuffed animal. The culprit was either an orange kitty named Marmalade from Build-a-bear or a very hungry caterpillar.

Either way it definitely did not make we up on the right side of the bed.

I can just feel the crankiness coursing through my veins. I would very much love to hide under the covers with a gallon of coffee, a giant candy bar and maybe a couple pints of Ben & Jerry’s.

Maybe then I’d feel better. Or worse. (I would probably feel pretty gross if I ate all that.) Anyway- Let’s just pretend Id feel happy and chipper and have a super outlook on my day!

It is so bad, I could feel myself looking for things to pick a fight with the Teen about before she left for school. Luckily, my brain was grumpy and caffeine deprived and I couldn’t remember all the things I thought of. Especially the fact that she left the frosting I made for the cookies that I’m taking to a meetup tonight out on the counter after she moved it to get something out of the fridge.

I think it’s funny that I forgot. Maybe it was just the part of my brain that knew it would be bad if I picked a fight. Whatever it was, it was probably for the best.

Now the trick is to keep the Maniac off of me until I can get in a better frame of mind. Ugh. It never fails that when I am in THE worst mood is when she wants to do nothing but hang on me and I just want to scream.

So far, so good. <<knock on wood>>

She’s currently sitting in the living room eating grapes and watching “Cats & Dogs: the Revenge of Kitty Galore” for the 50th time this week. I have had to threaten to turn it off several times to get her to leave me be.. but for right now she’s occupied.

We’ll see how long I can keep her that way. I have much to do today. Cookies to frost, dip to make.  (We’re going to a BBQ tonight!)

I think I need another cup of coffee… or 6.

Hope your weekend is off to a better start! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

