“To a nice chic who is almost always in a bad mood.” ~ Remembering 8th Grade

In honor of my Teen embarking on her 8th grade journey today, I thought I’d take a walk down memory lane.

For me, 8th grade  was the 1986-1987 school year.   No, I just can’t say that was 25 years ago out loud. Crap, I just did.  I mean… man, that was a long time ago.

I can’t recall what I wore on the first day of school, but let me tell you about the ensemble I pulled together for my school picture.  It was either a sign of the times or a sign that I was definitely marching to the beat of my own drummer.

Picture it: Bright yellow blazer with bright blue shirt.. or maybe it was a bright blue blazer and a bright yellow shirt.  A lapel pin that was a lady’s head with a mohawk (I wish I still had that pin) and I’m pretty sure I was rockin’ the 4 in wide white belt with it. Oh yea… I thought I was awesomesauce. I wish I had a copy of the color picture… the black and white in my 8th grade yearbook doesn’t do it justice.  I won’t even go into my hair or the glasses. Man, they were big. The glasses, not my hair.

8th Grade memories:

1. One of the girls who made my life a living hell in 7th grade sat across from me in home room. She introduced me to my beloved Poison by lending me her tape.

2. My BFF was a girl named Kelly. She had a shit-zu named Bruno. She was obsessed with Tom Cruise.

3. My very first concert and the start of a huge part of my teenage life- Bon Jovi Slippery When Wet Tour March 27,1987. We had row M on the floor of the Civic Arena in Pittsburgh, PA. (Yes, back when they actually put chairs there.)  They filmed the “Wanted Dead or Alive” video there that night. We found ourselves in it once.

The Bon Jovi Shirt

the back... March 27-Pittsburgh, PA

Oh,  I can’t write this without mentioning THE Bon Jovi jean jacket. This was just not any Bon Jovi  jean jacket.. but one I made myself.  Well,  “made” in the sense of I put silver studs all over the back of my jacket spelling out BON JOVI.  Again, I thought I was awesomesauce. Sadly I don’t have a picture of this masterpiece. But I wore it A LOT.

4. We used to spend countless hours on the phone voting for the “Top 8 at 8” on B94 fm trying to get “Talk Dirty to Me” by Poison on the countdown.  One time the DJ (His name was John Cline)answered and asked us if we wanted to be on a commercial. .. well DUH! of course we did! So,one weekend back in 1987 you heard their commercial for a Bon Jovi tickets contest and some girls screaming “I WANT MY BON JOVI CONCERT TICKETS!!!!!” that was me and Kelly.

The Countdown Calendar! I pulled off a post it every day.. were post its even invented yet?

5. My Algebra teacher had the worst comb-over in the history of comb-overs.

6. I was the honorary ball girl at a Pittsburgh Spirit game in April of 1987. The Spirit was the professional soccer team that the Burgh had for a few years. We used to go to games a lot. I wrote a letter saying that being the ball girl would be “the highlight of my life.”  And I guess they thought I was cute because I got picked. I got to go down on the field and have my picture taken with my favorite player who was Godfrey Ingram. I don’t know why I remember that.  The team autographed ball (and Godfrey’s signature is the only one that is smudged) is still in my garage. I have the picture too.. but I’m not sure where that is at the moment.

7.  After looking back through my year book… it seems the theme was that everyone wrote “to a nice but weird girl” or a “sweet but strange girl.” I wonder why I was weird and strange.  I think my favorite thing someone wrote is: “To a nice chic who is almost always in a bad mood.” What is that about I wonder?

8. I went through my memory box to see what I could find of 8th grade. Not much really. I have far more from high school and college than middle school. I did find these though- the program and streamers from our “8th grade Farewell” dance.  I want to say I danced with a boy at that dance, but I’m not sure who that was.

8th Grade Farewell program & Streamers

9. I was in the school Chorus and the school’s fancy singing group called “Showcase.” I still have no idea how I made it in the group. But you got to audition at the end of 6th grade and then you were in for 7th & 8th.  I remember being horrified that for the Spring choral concerts we had to wear flannel shirts and sing John Denver’s “Thank God I’m a Country Boy.” Which is a fine song and all… but not when you have to sing it in front of your entire school.

10.  Our school had just finished being remodeled at the start of that year. We had a new gym floor and it was forbidden to have sneakers with black soles on them, in fear of them leaving marks on the brand new shiny floor. No worries, I had red high top Reeboks. Did I mention the marching to the beat of my own drummer thing? 😉

They looked something like this
What’s your favorite 8th grade memory?
One response to ““To a nice chic who is almost always in a bad mood.” ~ Remembering 8th Grade

  1. 8th grade was my last year of geekhood. I made cheerleader the next year and the rest is history. Amazing what a nice set of pom poms (I had two back then) and some high legged bloomers could do for a girl’s social status. I look forward to the “teens” 8th grade adventures. Keep us posted.

Leave a Reply

