Happy Birthday to my Blog!

My little blog turns 1 today!

Who woulda thunk it?!?!?!  Not me.  A year ago today, I was up really late because I couldn’t sleep and I was on Facebook. My cousin’s status said something to the effect that she was thinking of starting a blog. I don’t know if she ever did… but a few minutes later… “A Not-So-Wicked Stepmom”  was born. (I posted my first entry 7/13/2010 at 4:40am)

Why did I pick the name? I don’t know really. It was the best I could come up with at that moment… and the other seemingly clever things I thought of were already taken.   And the more I think about it.. being a step mom is a huge part of my life, is one of the things that has changed me the most, and one of the things I am the most proud.

Whether you are reading this for my sage 😉 step mothering advice, the teenage trials and tribulations, my wacky adventures of the Maniac..or just my ramblings about my life I’m glad you’re here.

Honestly, I didn’t really think that anyone would even read this… or for that matter KEEP reading it!  I actually have 9 subscribers! (Okay, it’s really 8.. the 10th is myself. Yes, I’m a dork I subscribe to my own blog.)

Since I’m talking numbers… In case you were wondering.. or care… here’s some stats about my blog…

All time Views: 3904   Busiest day: 2/6/2011 with 146 views

136 posts with 113 comments

Top Searches:  1.Glee cake 167    2. Funny birthday pics 149  3. Funny birthday

Top Referer: wordpress.com 79

Top Posts:  Homepage 1858  1. Super Bowl XLV…  373    2. Why Do People Suck? 113  3. Let The Birthdays Begin  101 4.I ate an Entire Pizza… 76   5. Good Bye New Girl  69

I think it’s cool. I’m always amazed that I have views when I check the stats… even a year later!

When I first started writing, I was determined to write something clever, funny or interesting enough to make it onto Freshly Pressed.  I decided that it’s probably not really realistic to try to make the cut… so I gave up. Maybe someday…if it happens it happens.  I’ve found that I just  write for myself… The wacky sort of stream-of-consciousness thing that I do.  I just think and it comes pouring out onto the screen. Actually, sometimes I get so into what I’m writing and sooo into detail that I have to stop myself, scrap what I’m writing and start over.  I’m sure you can tell I tend to be a detaily person.:)

Oh, have I ever mentioned that I don’t really tell people about my blog? It’s kind of super-secret.    Is that weird? My sister knows, my aunt.. my 2 Best Friends know but I don’t think I’ve ever really sent them the link.  I don’t promote it on Facebook. I do have another blog about our adventures in potty training that I  share with everyone.. but this one is really more for me… and the entire blogosphere.. did I even spell that right?  Maybe someday I’ll share it.

Well.. I think I will leave you with a couple of my favorite posts from this year.

1. “No, I forgot.“~ Ballad of the  12-Year-old.

2. What A Glorious Day

3. The Big 1-3! Part 1: Bieb-her-bathroom!

Thanks so much for a year of support and comments and following my journey! 🙂

*Images from www.free-extras.com*

5 responses to “Happy Birthday to my Blog!

  1. Congrats on your Blog-iversary! Also, I am having mixed feelings now. I want to go through your archives and read your most popular posts but at the same time dont want you to think I have stalker tendencies…

    • Not-So-Wicked StepMom

      Thank you! I won’t think you are a stalker.. if I didnt want you to look, I wouldnt have linked them! 😉

  2. Congratulations. 🙂
    that’s a big deal, dearie. I am proud of you, for sticking to something that means so much to you.

    blessings
    jane

    • Not-So-Wicked StepMom

      Thanks Jane! I don’t know if I’ve ever told you or not…but your words insipre me so much. Wether its your posts or your comments.. I always look forward to reading them! I’m thankful that your post about your murderous intent towards your neighbors dog made freshly pressed and I found you. 😀 Thanks for sticking with me so far!

  3. Well, thank you. That means a lot to me…and I look forward to reading about your many adventures with real life…the heartaches and the madness and the joy and all the strange shades of gray in between.

    Live your life. God put you in your skin for a reason–

    blessings
    jane

Leave a Reply

