A Special Shout Out to some New StepMoms! :)

I just want to send a shout out to some (fairly new) Step-moms that have found my blog recently!

Welcome to the club ladies!  My step mom motto is:

“They” always say that being a mom is the hardest job in the world. “They” have never been a step-mom.

Raising other people’s kids is a hard job, and you are under rated, under appreciated and anything else you can be under! It’s not glamourous, it’s kind of got a bad name (that whole wicked stepmother thing)…We are the unsung heroes of remarriage. 🙂  I think that if they gave you a job description before you signed up for the gig, no one in their right mind would do it.  I’m sure you had no idea what you were in for. I know I didn’t have a clue when I said, “Sure, I’ll stay home and help raise your kid.”

The one thing you have that I didn’t is that knowing You are not alone!  I didn’t know anyone who was a step mom when we got married. I thought I was a crazy, horrible person for the things I was feeling and thinking.   There was no way that it was normal.  It seems that I was completely normal. Go figure.

I’ve been a step mom for 8 1/2 years now. I wouldn’t call myself an expert or anything, but we’ve been through a lot. And I’m sure there is more to come.. my step daughter is a teenager after all! I’m always here for you ladies if you need anything!  I’m just a blog post, comment or email away. 🙂

And let me recommend “The Courage to Be a StepMom: Finding You Place Without Losing Yourself.” Click on it and it will take you to Amazon.com.  This was the one book I read when I started out on this crazy journey.

Oh, and I’m sure you’ll notice that I tend to Blog about a million other things than just my step mom adventures… sometimes I just need to write about me. I have found blogging to be very therapeutic for me.  It helps me stay sane in the insanity that is my life… especially since I don’t really drink, and I’m trying to stop stress-eating. 🙂

I look forward to following your journeys, and I hope that mine doesn’t bore you to tears. hahahaha! 🙂

 

6 responses to “A Special Shout Out to some New StepMoms! :)

  1. Keep on keepin’ on!

  2. I am going to pretend this post was written especially for me because it makes me feel all hugs, rainbows and unicorns inside 🙂

    • notsowickedstepmom

      No need to pretend! I wrote it for you and 2 other stepmoms that have found me in the last week or so. It makes me happy that you are hugs, rainbows and unicorns! I was just hoping for maybe warm and fuzzy! 😀

  3. momto3ofherown

    I have been a stepmom for 8 years, too. And I have a (almost) teen stepdaughter, too. Sometimes she makes me want to tear out my hair. Is that normal????
    lol

    • notsowickedstepmom

      I think its probably normal with ANY tween or teenager. 🙂
      I think I have daily bouts with wanting to pull out my hair with her some weeks. Its mostly the same conversations we have over and over and over and over and over and over… drives me nuts! I’m pretty sure that If I drank, I would be a alcoholic by now.

  4. I love your motto. I was the only ‘step mom’ I knew as well so it is so comforting to hear that other ladies are going through and feeling the same things as myself.

Leave a Reply

