Important life lesson #3472

Import life lesson #3,472 (Yea, I just made that number up.)

When making dinner… actual pot holders/oven mitts make better pot holders than a dish towel. When using a dish towel, turn the flame off even if you are going to immediately return the pot to the burner. Your fingers will appreciate not being injured when the towel catches fire.

Ouch. My fingers hurt.

I was making dinner when this incident occurred. And surprisingly no one even noticed my gasp in pain or smelled the burning dish towel. Nice.

My middle, ring and pinky fingers on my right hand suffered minor burns. They really just sting more than anything. I think I will survive.

So, in light of my dinner time injury, I will share the recipe of the delicious stew I was preparing. My mom made this all the time when we were growing up. Its one of those super easy, I-have-no-idea-what-to-make-for-dinner-go-to recipes. And as its name says, its great for camping too!

CAMPSTE STEW

About 1 pound ground beef or turkey 4-6 small/medium potatoes peeled and cubed (or more if you like!) 2-3 beef bullion cubes about 1 Tbsp dried minced onion 2 cans creamed corn 1- 1.5 cans of water (the empty can from the corn) Salt and Pepper to taste

Brown ground meat. Drain grease. (This is where “the incident” occurred int he process.) Add cubed potatoes, bullion cubes, onion, creamed corn and water. Stir thoroughly. Cook on medium heat, stirring occasionally until bubbly and potatoes are tender.

Its delicious with bread and butter, crusty rolls or biscuits to sop up the stewy goodness. Mmmmm!

Below is what was left before hubby’s second helping!

20110607-083551.jpg

Hope you like it! Enjoy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

