Remembering my Mother-in-law

You always hear horror stories about people’s terrible “Monster-in-laws.” And yes, I did have one of those once upon a time…. My ex-husbands Stepmother was quite a piece of work. But that is a story for another day.  

I never got to meet my Mother-in-law, and it breaks me heart.

 She passed away about 10 years ago, when my Teen was almost 3. She had Lupus. It was a few weeks after the boys along with their (now ex) wives moved to Las Vegas.

My husband was devastated.  I know he still is.

I’ve heard so many stories about her.  She was a pretty cool lady. She was a strong woman who worked very hard to raise two boys on her own. Every time my husband leaves a waitress a good tip, its in her honor. The Manaic is named in her honor.  (Well, her first name is what hubby’s name would have been, had he been a girl like she thought he was going to be. And her second middle name is her middle name. Does that make any sense?)

 I hope she would have liked me.  It kind of sucks that she only knew the Teen’s mother.  You, know she is such a stellar example of woman/motherhood. Now that I’m thinking about it, I don’t think that she liked the Baby Mama very much.  At least we would have had that in common. hahaha

I know that she would be very proud of the man her boy has grown into- An amazing father, a great husband, hard-working, funny, stubborn… the list goes on and on. 🙂   And my Brother-in-law too… despite his life having many moments that could be featured on the Jerry Springer Show.

It also makes me sad that she will never get to meet my little Manaic or my Brother-in-law’s kids, and hasn’t been able to watch the Teen grow into the amazing young woman she is today. Although I have no doubt she was blessed to be able to enjoy her granddaughter for the time she did.

I’m not sure that my husband knows how deeply I feel for her, even though I only know her through him.  I honestly have a hard time thinking about her without crying, let alone talking about her.  I’m sitting here crying as I type this.

 I just wanted to take a moment to remember her. . She was a very special woman, and she is greatly missed. 

 We love you Judy. ❤

Happy Mother’s Day!

One response to “Remembering my Mother-in-law

  1. Well you made me cry too. I feel lucky to have known Mary B., even for such a short time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

