I’ve been thinking a lot about this Bin Laden Thing…

I still think that the fact that they got Osama Bin Laden is crazy. I really didn’t think it would ever really happen.  It has been almost 10 years after all.

Yes, it is not a bad thing. Yes, he was a horrible, evil man.

But when I was watching the Today show yesterday morning, I saw all the people celebrating in the streets, like it was New Years Eve or their sports team  won a championship or we won a war… I was kind of taken aback.

It’s not like we got the last terrorist on the face of the Earth.

THAT would call for a celebration people! 

This quote has been floating around Facebook.

“Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that. Hate multiplies hate, violence multiplies violence, and toughness multiplies toughness in a descending spiral of destruction….The chain reaction of evil–hate begetting hate, wars producing more wars–must be broken, or we shall be plunged into the dark abyss of annihilation.” -Martin Luther King, Jr. 

It really got me thinking about this whole thing.

How do I explain to my 13-year-old people rejoicing, literally dancing in the streets over the death of one man (albeit an evil one)?

I know that odds are probably slim that they could have even taken him alive.  Wasn’t it worth a shot?

 But, wouldnt “Justice” be better served for him to really answer for his crimes? I know, inevitably he would probably be put to death, but that seems more like “justice.” At least that’s the justice we put forth in the United States. Every one has their day in court. Even Saddam Hussein had his day.

I think the bigger problem now, is which new evil mastermind has taken his place?  Or as I saw on one of my friend’s Facebook status yesterday-

“Beware the Hydra, cut off one head 10 grow back in its place*. ”

*according to Encyclopedia Mythica its only 1 or 2 that grow back in its place. 🙂

image from parthenon.org

 
2 responses to “I’ve been thinking a lot about this Bin Laden Thing…

  1. yes–a day to ponder our responses…

    blessings to you!
    jane

  2. i am so happy about this post. because i thought the world has gone mad. i am so revolted by everyone’s dancing in streets about the death of this man.

    i was totally against what he did and what he stood for. but then for people to go on like that after his death?

    he should’ve been tried and convicted.

    i have a horrible image of americans, and children including, dancing with flags and jumping on his face in the paper lying in the streets. it just doesn’t seem very christian to me.

    definitely something queesy.

Leave a Reply

