I’m surprisingly chipper for it being monday.

**So, I thought I posted this, but it seems that I didnt. Hmmm… weird.

It is a beautiful, sunny Monday morning.

I havent had any coffee, yet I am surprisingly chipper.

The good news, Hubby is on his way out-of-town to work this week! YES!!!!! Don’t get me wrong, I hate when he’s gone, and would always rather have him home… just home and working. He didn’t work at all last week. Which is definitely going to make the next couple weeks really tough. . Thanks to the wonderful people at his office, and him being such a good employee.. we should be able to pay the rent. Whew. I was really worried about that. It’s just the few other things that are due between now and him getting paid the next time that are going to be tricky. Somehow it will work out though.

So, the Teen spent ALL weekend working on her book report that is due today. I discovered on Thursday that this assignment was due today. She had been working on it since Monday.. and she barely had anything done by Thursday.  The assignment was that they had to read a book (obviously, it is a book report), write a summary of each chapter(Which were turned in last week), and then make a booklet that included pictures detailing things like the protagonist, setting, conflict,climax, resolution, and some personal thoughts about the book.

Personally, I would think that she content of this booklet would be the most important part of this assignment. Oh no..not to the Teen. She spent THREE days on the pictures for her DRAFT! Not even the real ones.. on her draft. They were colored and everything. When I questioned her about it, she “had to plan what she was going to draw.” Okay, I get that.. but its a draft!

So, she spent Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday working on the content. Which, I felt she really did most of it on Sunday. I felt like she was just writing stuff to write stuff, and not really answering the questions that the teacher was asking her to answer.

She really just drove me crazy with it all weekend. She would ask for help, and then get totally defensive every time I gave her an answer. She had such a bad attitude about it too. Every time I asked a question (I havent read the book, all I know about it is what I’m reading in her work) she wouldn’t answer it.. she would just say “It’s wrong” or “its bad I’ll change it.” I don’t know how many times i said “I’ll change it does not answer my question.”

SOOOOO frustrating. Part of me hopes she gets a crappy grade on it. Maybe it will teach her a lesson. If you do crappy work, you get crappy grades. It seriously looked like she did it last-minute. It was messy, she doesn’t have the best handwriting in the world, so she needed to be extra careful and take her time writing it. She just scribbled the last couple pages. She didn’t check her spelling or punctuation and at some point she stopped erasing her mistakes, and just wrote over them. UGH. It makes me crazy thinking that she turned this thing in looking the way it did. I just have to hope her teacher feels the same way.  She also chose not to get up early and fix it either. So it’s really on her.

Oh, and I don’t know if I’m doing the right thing here… but she has had the information about her school field trip in her backpack for over a week now. She mentioned it when she brought the paper home. Last week when I was doing a random check of her backpack (to make sure there wasnt any food rotting in it) I saw the paper in her binder. I read it and put it back. She keeps talking about going, But the paper has still not made it into my hands. She has to have the money and the permission slip turned in this Friday. I feel like if she wants to go, its her responsibility to give me the info. As far as she knows, I have no idea about any of it.   We’ll see… what happens this week. I hope she realizes that if she gives it to me friday morning, she’s out of luck. Other than my “I dont sign things 5 minutes before you’re leaving” policy, I have to give them cash and I don’t normally have any.

Oh, so how about this Osama Bin Laden being dead thing? Crazy. After all this time, did you ever think we’d see the day?  I found out thanks to Facebook. Gotta love social networking! I was giving the Maniac a bath, and my phone dinged that I had a text and it was an update from a friends FB status…I put on the news and there it was.  Unbelievable. I watched the President’s address, I thought he did a great job. I wonder how excited he was on the inside?  Do you think he wanted to skip for joy back down that hallway when he was done? 🙂 It is a funny thought though.

Well.. I’m going to go entertain the Maniac for a while. Then I have some coupons to clip! Oh- and how annoying is this? I went to the grocery store yesterday morning to get milk. I ran into the Dollar Tree to grab a couple extra newspapers since there are some good coupons this week. (At the Dollar Tree the papers are only $1 and not $1.50!)  Later in the day I went to get the coupons out of the paper and they werent’ there! Not in any of them! SOOOO ANNOYING! I went to Walgreens and their papers didn’t have them either. GRRR. It is my understanding, that they put the inserts in the subscription papers first and then the store ones.. so they could have run out. Who knows. But it’s still annoying. I ended up ordering some on CollectableCoupons.com.

Happy monday to you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

