Enjoying the Quiet and Some Coffee

It’s a lovely Wednesday morning… I am enjoying some quiet and a cup of coffee before my dear sweet Maniac wakes up.

She was something else yesterday… she was acting like she needed a nap all day long. Whiny, crying at every little thing that didn’t go her way. And even crying at things that went her way. Hopefully today will be better. She’s got a lot going on today!

First, we are headed to story time at the library.  Of course, she has to do her “homework” from last week before we go. They gave her a little sheet to color that had a sandwich on it. (The theme of the day was lunch.) Then we are headed to aMeetUp..which is naturally a MeetUp that only me and my new friend (Who I shall call V.)  are going to, since no one else (out of the 20 people who have joined our group and not come to anything yet) RSVP’d. We are braving the movie theatre to go see Rio! We’ll see how it goes… the Maniac is super excited about the “moo-vee fee-at-er” but I think that’s mostly about the popcorn. I did take her one time last summer.. and she sat through half of it successfully. Maybe she can hang longer this time. We’ll see.

And to make everything ever more fantastic… Hubby isn’t working AGAIN today. UGH. He went in for a while yesterday for a meeting… they swear that he’ll be working Thursday and friday and they have enough work to keep them busy through May.. and then will be in Arizona in June.

Let’s do a little math here…. Last week he worked 3 days. This week he will have worked 2.5 days.  3 days + 2.5 days= not enough money to pay the rent.

NOT COOL.

We are hoping that he can sweet talk the Payroll lady into giving him a few vacation days early. He boss said it was okay. He gets his new vacation in July, so it’s not that early. Keep your fingers crossed. Otherwise we have to come up with emergency plan B.

The good news is- we got the info in the mail yesterday about renewing our lease and they are not raising the rent! I was a little worried that they were going to. ( the rent was originally about $200 more a month. They lowered it right before we found it.) Thankfully it will remain the same which is a huge relief.

And seriously, how has it been a year since we moved already? CRAZY how time flies!

Oh, and in sad news. I’ve been doing some research. It seems I am going to have to put my dreams of a Cake Pop business on hold for a while. The great lame state of California is not a fan of the in-home bakery business. While, it is not illegal to have one, the Health Department has to approve them and it “rarely” does. What ever.

I did find some commercial kitchen space that you can rent by the hour. I think I’d have to be in a place to make a real huge committment, and have some money to spend.  It’s like $18-$25 an hour, plus a boatload of deposits.And you have to have all your licenses and whatnot… I think I’m going to consider myself in research & development mode and work on my product from my own kitchen and see how it goes.

But I still need to find a way to supplement our income.

Oh well.. I’ll keep looking.

Hmmm.. I think that’s about it for now.  I’m going to finish my coffee, maybe Farmville a little… and if the Maniac is still asleep, I’m going to catch up on some DVR’d shows.. I’m seriously behind!

Have a wonderful Wednesday!

One response to “Enjoying the Quiet and Some Coffee

  1. Busy days…sounds like you are well…
    I hope you can find a (sane) way to supplement the income…

    I know it’s tough…times are so tough right now…

    keep hanging on…I am praying for you!
    blessings
    jane

Leave a Reply

