It’s okay to lie… So says the Attendance Office at School

My Teen had not missed any school this year.

When we were planning on going to Vegas to visit my BFF and see my hubby I gave her the option to skip a day of school.   But it was totally up to her. If she wanted to keep her perfect attendance we would just go around her schedule.  She has straight A’s and works really hard, and I think everyone deserves a “mental health day” as my mom used to call them.  

 She had no problem missing school, so off to Vegas we went! As things turned out, we left Thursday evening and came back late Monday night. 

As per her school’s policy, I called the attendance line and left a message that she was absent because we were out-of-town and she would be back Tuesday.  Let me just say that we did the same thing last year. The one day of school she missed was because we went to Vegas and I told them we were out-of-town too.

It seems that I needed to leave a better message.

It seems that I needed to lie.

I believe whole heartedly in honesty.  Yes, I will tell an occasional “white lie” but 99.9% of the time I just tell it like it is. Which I why I told the school we were out-of-town.  I also believe that you lie and say you are sick, you had a family emergency, or a death in the family- that odds are something to that effect will happen. Hence my telling the truth.

My Teen came home from school Tuesday afternoon, with a notice that she was assigned 2 days of “Saturday School” (aka saturday detention) because my telling the school we were “out-of-town” was not an excusable reason for an absence. I was livid. 

It also seems that I didn’t  thoroughly read the attendance policy at the beginning of the school year, or I didn’t remember what I read.  Whatever, I was still mad.

I called the school and gave the attendance lady a piece of my mind. According to her, they follow the regulations set by the state of California. That’s all fine and dandy, but last year when we did the same thing and I told the school we were out-of-town nothing happened.

So after I calmed down, we had 3 options.

1. Just don’t go and have 2 unexcused absences on her record.

2. Just go to the detention and do her time to get the absences excused.

3. Write a note on the back of the paper they sent home LYING that she was actually sick, even though they have a recorded message that says otherwise.

Seriously people. What example are you setting for our kids here?

The attendance lady seriously waited for no one to be in earshot of her and told me to write the lying note, and said I needed to leave “a better message” next time.

Let’s just lie and get out of trouble! Woo! Yea! Great message people!

 WTF. I have enough trouble trying to figure out when she’s lying to me, and she’s only been a teenager for 2 months!  I don’t need the school district reinforcing it!

We decided to do the right thing. Despite the fact that this whole debacle is my fault for not knowing. But now I know.

She did her 4 hours saturday morning. In her words “It was horrible.”  And she’s got another 4 hours to go this coming Saturday.  If nothing else, she will have had lots of time to work on her book report.

Oh, and its come to light that she may not be able to go on her class field trip since she was assigned 2 Saturdays of detention. Which, again is a load of crap. especially, since it wasnt for a behavioral problem.

We shall cross that bridge when we come to it, and believe me, if that is the case  i am going to take that one up with the Principal.   And if after fighting the good fight, if I lose… maybe she’ll be sick that day. Humph.

4 responses to “It’s okay to lie… So says the Attendance Office at School

  1. Wow, that’s really messed up! Our school district has some pretty strict rules but I’ve never heard of Saturday detention for an unexcused absence. And then being told to just lie, that’s crazy…

    • I guess the point of the detention is to “give the kids a chance to make up the day.” Which I get, but at the same time if I wanted my kid to go to school that day I would have sent her. 😉

  2. Oh this really burns me up!!!! If she makes straight As and works hard in school WHOSE BUSINESS IS IT IF SHE MISSES SCHOOL?!?!?! We used to take Hannah out of school during the first week of December to go to Disney World without crowds and nice cool weather. She made good grades and always made up the missed work when we returned. I think this should be a crusade for every parent in your school district. Get this stupid, wrong rule changed! You are so right to be livid.

    • notsowickedstepmom

      Thats exactly my thinking. Aparently the State of California does not agree. Even my “My daughter hasn’t seen her father in almost a month” defense didnt hold any water for them. We just turned it into a “If you do the crime you do the time” lesson. Which, is kind of messed up, since I was the one who didnt know the rules and she gets the punishment. At least now she knows that she doenst want to do anything to get more Saturday detention. LOL And sadly, the lesson really learned was next time I’ll just have to lie. 😦

Leave a Reply

