I have a giant toddler.

My dear Toddler went to the doctor for her 3 year appointment today.

 (Which reminds me, I don’t think I ever posted about her Puppy party! I’ll have to get on that.) 

I was very interested to see how much she’s grown. And let me tell you – it was A LOT! She is such a big girl! But, she comes by it honestly.  I stand a mere 5 ft 6.5 inches. (I have to add that half an inch in there, since it is the half an inch I am taller than my sister. 🙂 ) My husband, on the other hand, is a tall drink of water, the jolly green giant… a tree. He is 6 ft 7 inches. And, not a scrawny 6’7″.. he’s a BIG guy. As one of my Aunts would say, “He’s built like a brick shithouse.”  LOL

When my bundle of joy was born she was 8 pounds 3 ounces an 20.5 inches tall.  They thought she was going to be over 9 pounds. Which led to being induced and then the super-fun-time of a C-section (but that’s a story for another day).

On her first birthday she was 26 pounds 10 ounces and 31 inches tall.

On her second birthday she was 36 pounds and 36.5 inches tall.

Today she is 48 pounds and 41.25 inches tall! She grew 5 inches this year!

Obviously, she has always been at the top of the growth charts, in the 95-99th percentile. Which, if you don’t know, means that she’s taller and weighs more than 95-99% of other kids her age.  🙂

At her height and weight today, she is off the charts for a 3-year-old. However, she is the perfect size for the average 4-year-old.  I even looked for myself You can find the growth charts if you google the CDC growth charts. Or just click here.

I’ve been told that if you measure a child on their second birthday and double that number, that will be how tall they will be as an adult. And its supposed to be more accurate for girls than boys. So, she could very easily be 6’1″. 

Everyone has always said that the Teen was going to be tall, but she’s really just average for her age. Her mother is only like 5’3″ (maybe). She is looking forward to being taller than me… and is joking that the Toddler is going to be taller than she is before she gets to Kindergarten. That would be horrible… poor thing.

My husband claims that he outgrew his teacher in 3rd or 4th grade.  Crazy.

I hope she owns her height when she is older. Right now, people see that she’s so big and think she IS older. She is the size of a 4-year-old after all..  So when she’s acting cray, like a three-year old (like the mayhem she was causing/ meltdown she was having in Staples today) they are kind of shocked since they are expecting something different.

I guess it is a cross we will have to bear. It will be interesting to see how much she grows this year.. and interesting to see how much longer I can pick her up and carry her. I have baby muscles, but man she’s heavy!

Leave a Reply

