My Post Game Show

THE GAME:

STEELERS 25 PACKERS 31

My Steelers lost. 😦

But I think winning 6 out of 8  Super Bowls that you’ve played is not too shabby!I can remember when I was a kid, we all had t-shirts that said  “One for the Thumb in 81!” And here we are in 2011 and we’re working on the other hand!   Its pretty awesome no matter who won.

I think its funny that my husband didn’t call or text during the game. I got a single text when it was over that read: “Whoops.”  It made me laugh for quite a while.  I sent him congratulations back.  When I finally talked to him he said..

“Being a good loser sucks.”  ha ha ha Gloating isnt as fun when the other person isnt completely upset.

Little did he realize that when found out that the Super Bowl was Packers-Steelers I decided that its fine who ever wins. The Packers deserved to be there just as much as the Steelers did.  Yes, it stinks that we lost, but I’m glad that the Pack took the Lombardi home.  (Please note, if it was the Patriots that had beat us, I don’t think I would be such a gracious loser. I’m just saying..)

But, we still have 6 and they only have 4… neener neener neener! LOL

THE FOOD:

Potato Skins! Half with Bacon, half without!

My not-quite-famous black bean white corn guacamole with homemade chips!

 

Home made Salted and Cinnamon Sugar Soft Pretzels!

My Teen walked into the kitchen while the pretzels were baking and said “It smells like the mall in here.” They absolutely tasted just like the ones you get in the mall! They were super easy and awesome! And I will make them again- A LOT! 

Here’s the recipe.

Oh yea, and all of this food was just for me, my sister and the kids.  Needless to say the pretzels are GONE. We also had brownies and cookies.

THE COMMERCIALS:

Were there A LOT of car commercials or was it just me?

I was really confused by the Emimem Chrysler spot.  Confused meaning, when did Eminem suddenly decide he was going to start peddling things? (there was an iced tea commercial with his likeness too.)  After that aired, one of my friends Facebook status said: “I’m sorry. Did Eminem just try to sell me a Chrysler?”

The finger licking Doritos one was pretty hilarious, as was the little Darth Vadar.. there was another one I can’t remember right now… Oh yea.. the NFL commercial with all the old tv shows- I liked that. And some of the CarMax spots were cute.

The Snickers one with Richard Lewis and Rosanne, was funny, but will never top the one from last year with Betty White! That is classic!

HALF TIME SHOW:

I really like the Black Eyed Peas usually… but that was awful. And seriously where did Slash or Usher really fit into that extravaganza? Weird. And all the light-up dancers, which were kind of cool in theory,  made me feel like I was watching the opening ceremony at the Beijing Olympics.. but not really in a good way.

GLEE:

So my Tween , I mean my Teen has been dying for Glee to come on ALL DAY! I was getting an hourly countdown during the game.  Then the game was over and I hear: “Wait. There is a post game show? I thought Glee was on! UGH!”

The poor thing had to wait another half hour.

But it was worth it since the episode was GREAT! Love the Thriller/Heads will Roll mash-up! I’ve been listening to the song all week and seeing it finally was awesome!  We LOVED IT! YAY GLEE!

It was definitely a great ending to a pretty good day, even though the Packers won.

Now, my problem is getting the Toddler back to sleep. She passed out around 7:30 or so.. and I was hoping for her to sleep through the night.. but alas she woke up around 10… sigh.. I don’t think we’re going to bed anytime soon.

EPILOGUE:

I had all intentions of posting this last night, but that didn’t seem to work out due to one super spunky toddler who was demanding my attention. Go figure. I did manage to get her to go back to sleep around 12:30, and she slept until 8:30. Could have been worse!

Leave a Reply

