Good Grief.

I think there should be a law about being this aggravated before 8 am and not having any coffee.

UGH.  Almost Teenagers.

As I’m sure everyone knows, the east coast and midwest have been practically shut down because of the blizzard and crazy amounts of snow and ice and seriously cold weather.  Here, in southern California we’ve been fortunate enough to have some pretty nice weather.  We did have some crazy wind yesterday, but overall its been beautiful.  Although it has been pretty chilly at night… getting into the high 30’s or 40’s.

So, on Tuesday when my Almost-Teenager came in from taking care of the dog she was “freezing” because all she was wearing was a t-shirt and a hoodie sweatshirt jacket.  And naturally she “Didn’t have time” to put anything else on under the hoodie. 

Oh, and it was my fault she was cold since I hadn’t gotten to washing her “warmer hoodie” yet.

Yesterday. Same thing. To me, if I had been freezing the day before, I might put on an extra layer or maybe check to see what the weather was like.   I did make her put on an extra layer before we left to take hubby to the airport despite her pleading that she didn’t have time. It may have been 47 degrees when we left, but it was REALLY windy and felt a lot colder.

Which brings me to this morning. Yeesh. Two days of being cold- and what does she do? Puts on a t-shirt under the hoodie. It’s actually only 37 degrees this morning. (but the wind has died down).  It’s COLD.

I make her put another layer on again, despite her protests of “I’m hot by the end of the day!” That is why you have layers- so you can take them off!  Or maybe if you didn’t wear the hoodie ALL.THE.LIVELONG.DAY.  And I told her she had to wear her coat.

“Which one?” she says.Seriously? You only have one coat.

Which I’m assuming she now doesn’t like. Whatever.  She almost burst into tears telling me how it did even make her warm (when she was cold) when she tried it on in the store.

Good grief.

And I guess just to irritate me more, she came in from her dog duties swearing that it wasnt cold. yes, the wind had stopped, but it’s still cold.  I guess I should have just made her wear the coat, but I didn’t care any more and it really wasnt worth fighting about since she was on the verge of being late.

Is it wrong of me to want her to be cold?

So explain this one to me…

This is the second time in as many weeks that I have caught her “Forgetting” to brush her teeth.  I can’t even imagine how many times she hasn’t done it before I caught her.

YUCK. I know that once in a very long while, I do something that throws off my routine and I forget to brush. It happens, I get that. But I don’t think this is one of those times.  I don’t get it.

I honestly believe that she was running 10 minutes late and she decided that she didn’t have time to brush.  That’s what her story was the last time I busted her.

Which prompted a “Basic hygiene” lesson. Things you do no matter what(in no particular order); that come BEFORE spending 20-30 minutes on your hair.

1.Shower/wash hair   2. Wear deodorant  3. Brush your teeth  4. Wash your face 5. Wash your hands after going to the bathroom.

I don’t think it’s too much to ask of her. I don’t want her to turn into the smelly chick with the gross teeth. 

Oh well… maybe tomorrow she will think about it

I’m feeling better now that I’ve vented and had some coffee.

Wishing you a terrific Thursday!

Leave a Reply

