Bridalplasty- incredibly twisted and insanely disturbing “reality”

I love a good reality tv competition show.

Top Chef, Project Runway, America’s Next Top Model, American Idol… I haven’t missed an episode.  (Though, I never had any interest in Survivor.)

So,  I was flipping channels yesterday morning, looking for something “grown up” to watch since my Toddler was still sleeping. Normally, my mornings are filled with Dora, Spongebob, Max & Ruby, Wow Wow Wubbzy, Wonder pets… the list goes on and on.  I wasnt sure if the TV knew how to be on a channel other than Nickelodeon.

As  I was surfing the channels I seldom get to see… I came across something incredibly disturbing. Something, in my opinion, so weird that I just couldn’t change the channel. It is such a train wreck, I found myself compelled to watch.

Bridalplasty.

Ever heard of it? It’s on E!  And it’s so mind-boggling, I watched the two episodes that were on, just to see if I really believed what I was seeing.

The contest-  12 engaged women compete for a fantasy “perfect” wedding, and on the way to winning this fabulous wedding, they get to perfect themselves. But not perfect themselves by boosting their confidence, or a new hair do or even learning to sing, dance or cook.

The winner of each challenge each week gets to be rushed off to have a plastic surgery done off of their “wish list.”  One girl gets voted off each week by the other girls. And naturally someone ends up getting uninvited to the party.  And the last “perfect” girl standing gets to be unveiled to her husband-to-be at their wedding “fit for the stars.”

Its crazy.  When the poor sad girl gets kicked off, the host Shanna Moakler (former Mrs. Travis Barker and Dancing with the Stars Alum) says

“You’ll still have your wedding. But it won’t be perfect.”

OMG. That made my skin crawl when she said it.

I hope these girls went through some sort of psychological screening before they went on this show. I doubt it.  What must their parents think?  Their future mother-in-laws were on the second episode I watched… they all seemed fine with it.  Color me even more disturbed.

Can you imagine?

“Oh Mrs. so-and-so.. I saw your daughter on Bridalplasty. you must be so proud!”

“Oh yes, we are so pleased that she saved us so much money by getting all that free plastic surgery. Now we can throw her the wedding of her dreams.”

Oh please.

What a horrible example those girls are setting for young women everywhere. As if they aren’t getting bombarded with all kinds of images in the media that confuse the heck out of them.

Watch this video by Dove:  No wonder our perception of beauty is distorted.

I lost some respect for E! after watching it.  I know, I know, they aren’t a hard-hitting news outlet or anything.. and they mostly do frivolous  celebrity centered “reality shows” like the Girls Next Door, Kendra, any of the shows featuring the Kardashians.. and all the red carpet specials. (I am in no way against red carpet specials or frivolous celebreality. I have been known to watch it from time to time.) But really people? Who came up with this brilliant idea? And how much did you get paid for it? What is this world coming to?

But this to me, is just setting a bad example for the young girls out there who are already struggling with so many things.   It just reinforces this shallow world where the infamous “they” only care about how you look.

Case in point: A Study done by the Dove self-esteem project.  The study was commissioned in 2008, and looks at the current state of self-esteem in our country. It’s scary, especially as a mom with daughters.   Check it out.

Anyway- From what I can tell, they aren’t even trying to make the girls like themselves, teach any kind of lesson.. or improve their character or confidence at all. It’s just – “Oh, you made the best flower arrangement let’s go get your nose fixed!”  

Madness. Pure Madness.

Maybe its just because I have never been that unhappy with something about myself that I would ever consider plastic surgery.  Maybe I just don’t get it.  Yes, I know I need to lose weight. But it would never cross my mind to go get liposuction. Yes, I have been dying my hair for a long time… but I can change that back.  

I understand the shows that give people makeovers… sometimes a girl needs to change it up a bit.. a new hairdo, makeup,  anoutfit.  Sometimes a girl needs to find herself and some confidence.  These plastic surgery shows just take it over the line.

It makes me think that these girls should just be shipped off to Girl Scout camp for a couple of weeks. Wouldn’t they be in for a surprise- They think they are going to be on some crazy reality show and end up hanging out with a bunch of Girl Scouts. I have no doubt those girls would show them a thing or two. 

If you don’t know much about Girl Scouts other than the cookies, the organization’s mission is to “build girls of courage, confidence, and character, who make the world a better place.” It sounds exactly what these Bridalplasty girls need. Though, the more that  think about it.. they are probably beyond help.

Oh, and I guess I’m late jumping on my soapbox about this show. I guess I’ve been too busy watching Dora and Spongebob. I googled it and found a zillion blogs that think the show is a sign of the apocalypse.  Of the ones I read, this one was my favorite.  

Even if Bridalplasty is a sign of the apocalypse… all I can do is hope that I can and have set a good example for my girls.  

Make sure they know to:

 Love what your mama gave you. 

Be yourself. Love Yourself.

No BODY and No ONE is perfect.

That’s all I can do.

Oh, and make sure they never, ever, ever see that show.

Leave a Reply

