My New Years Resolutions…

Hello 2011!

I know its been way too long since I last posted. I’ve tried a few times, but I never seemed to be able to finish anything!

New Years Resolution #1- Post more!  I think I have just as many drafts as I do actual postings… I need to change that. Maybe if I write more, more people will read this.  But I’m really fine if no one does.  I’m not really writing for an audience, I’m just writing for me.

Anyway-  we were luckily enough to have my hubby home for close to 2 weeks for the holidays. (Luckily in the fact that he was home, incredibly UNLUCKY that he was not working while he was here.)  I think we all got to spend some quality time together while he was here.

And his not working for two weeks again, brings me to

New Years Resolution #2- We are going to find financial health this year.  As wacky as his work has been this year,  there is no reason at all, other than our own fiscal irresponsibility that we are in the pickle we are in (again.)  I am promising myself that we are going to be in a better place at this time next year.  Better place = at least half the credit cards paid off and at least enough for one months hills in savings. I think those are realistic goals.

And naturally it is January 3, and hubby is already on the road. A week in Las Vegas… and it’s just me and the crazy toddler until Friday. My Tween is spending her last week of winter break at my parents house.  Fun for her. And a break for me, we’ve really been driving each other crazy these last couple days.

New Years Resolution #3- Patience. I need to dig deeply and find more patience with my darling tween. (Who will be a full-fledged teenager in a little over a month.)  I need to pick my battles. I need to remember that we do not think the same at all. I need to let her go outside looking  however she wants, even if it makes me cringe.  (I mean her hair looking like she just rolled out of bed and not in  a good way. And her flair for mismatching.)

My own personal self is New Years Resolution #4- more Weight Loss.  I havent exactly been eating very well these last couple weeks. The Holidays will do that to a girl.. cookies, candy, and everything in between… I have somehow managed to only gain a pound or so back. I’ll take that. I sent all of the cookies to Las Vegas with my husband and brother-in-law. I am going to clean out the fridge tomorrow of everything else that i shouldnt be eating.  My new goal is 10 more pounds by Valentines day. I think i can do that, once I get myself back on the wagon. If nothing else, I found myself fitting in some jeans I couldn’t get buttoned just a couple of months ago! That was amazing to me. So I MUST.KEEP.GOING!

And what is to become the main focus of my life in the (hopefully) next few weeks New Years Resolution #5- POTTY TRAINING!   I’m planning on getting serious this week. If nothing else, potty training is going to save us probably close to $100 a month in diapers.  She may not be ready, but I am. I’m not planning on getting all hardcore with it.. but I am going to be more on top of it.. and proactive about it… is that even the word I really want? I guess you get the gist of it anyway.

I also have some other random things I want to work on..

#6 Read more. I have about 10 +books that I havent read collecting dust..

#7 Keep the house cleaner, purge the junk. Get the garage actually useable.

#8 Not be so lazy about cooking dinner every night.

#9 Go to my 20th High School Reunion if there is one.

#10 actually make time for myself

I’m sure I could think of more… but this is probably a good list to start. Hopefully I can keep all of them… or at least half.  Funny, how this isn’t exactly how I intended this post to go, but I’m glad it did.

I hope your holidays were wonderful!

Here’s to a Happy, Healthy 2011!

4 responses to “My New Years Resolutions…

  1. What a list!
    Have you heard of Dave Ramsey? Financial Peace University? Perhaps there are some churches in your area that will begin this class in the near future…it’s hardcore, but works!
    🙂
    blessings, and glad you are feeling positive about your new year!
    jane

  2. Pingback: A little help with New Years Resolution #1 | A not-so-wicked Step Mom

  3. Pingback: Resolutions Revisited | A not-so-wicked Step Mom

  4. Pingback: My Summer Reading List | A not-so-wicked Step Mom

Leave a Reply

