Countdown to 50 pounds..

It’s Monday.

I am starting off the new week with a new attitude.

No more grumpy monday mornings for me! (Theoretically that is)

I am trying to be more positive about things.

It is a beautiful morning. It rained last night, so everything was fresh and clean. it was a little chilly, but it was invigorating.

It gave me a little extra boost. We went for an extra long walk. it felt good.

I’m feeling pretty good today. 

The scale claims that I lost some weight this week. I don’t know how accurate my scale is… but if nothing else, it gives me some inspiration to keep going.

I don’t know if I mentioned it, but I started a “diet” last week.

And for me Diet= eating better, eating less and exercising more.

I am using the Lose It! App on my iPhone. It helps you track your calories and exercise to help you reach your weight loss goals. According to it, I will reach my ultimate goal of losing 50 pounds in March if I lose 2 pounds a week.

I think I can handle that. I did pretty good this week considering that there is a giant bucket of Halloween candy sitting in the kitchen.  It was hard to resist on Monday, so I didn’t. I ate way too much of it. But by Friday or so I was pretty over it. If I wanted something sweet, i just had a little tootsie roll or something. Not the 6 peanut butter cups I would normally have let myself eat.

Moderation.

I know it’s a learning process. I am learning that when I’m stressing out, I do totally find myself eating. I had to overcome the urge to bake cookies this morning. The wonderous fall morning made me want delicious freshly baked chocolate chip cookies. mmmm….  droool..

but I’m not going to make them, because I will just eat them.

My immediate goal is to lose 10 pounds by hubby’s company Christmas party.

I think that is realistic and doable.  And my award for meeting that goal: a new outfit to wear to the party. (Should we get to go, since we have babysitting woes usually.)

That is my plan.  I am excited about it. I REALLY need to be less fat.  I don’t normally obsess about it. I try to own it.  I know I should be thinner.. I know it’s not healthy.  I pay 25% more for my health insurance because of my weight. If I can lose 25 pounds  and have a doctor prove I kept it off for 6 months it will go down. crazy huh?

I have finally decided it is time.

I am now 37… headed down that road to 40. I don’t want to worry about my health.  And I just want to feel good.  I don’t want to feel like a big tub of lard.

So there it is. I’ve put it out there… I think I’ve turned a corner. I’m ready to go.

50 pounds here I come!

One response to “Countdown to 50 pounds..

  1. Congratulations on your positive “self-care” journey!
    and, how wonderful to set a plan in place for yourself, especially with the holidays coming.
    You can do it!
    jane

Leave a Reply

