That’s what I get for taking a day off…

What a day.

Yesterday, my husband didn’t work (I know, totally shocking) and I have been making a bit of a fuss about getting a break from the children.  I had been feeling incredibly unappreciated and basically like a slave.  So, he “suggested” that I take some time for myself.

You don’t have to ask me twice!

I really had no idea what I should do with myself all day.

Then I realized that my brother-in-law was out-of-town, and his girl friend was going to be home alone. (This is the “New Girl”. She officially moved here to be with him last weekend. Oh, and we bonded a couple of weekends ago. She came out to visit and we went to a party and I sat and talked to her the whole night. i meant to post about it, but somehow that never happened.)

So I Facebooked her, since we hadn’t gotten to the texting stage in our new relationship. She said to text her, and we’d make a plan!

So I did, and we hung out. Pretty much all afternoon. It was good.

We walked to get some coffee, and then just wandered around for a while chit chatting. (They live in a little beachy town, and are across the street from the beach, and about 2 blocks away from the “main drag” where all the shops, restaurants and stuff are.) We hung out and talked at the apartment, then decided that cupcakes were in order, so we went to Sprinkles! Super delicious cuppycakes! There was a stop at Kohl’s and we had some dinner.

It was a good afternoon. I was relaxing, getting to know my potential future sister-in-law. We acknowledged that we didn’t like each other way back when. But we are cool now, and I’m happy about that. I do believe my brother-in-law when he says she’s a totally different person.

Little did I know what was happening at home while I was out gallivanting.

I left after we got back from our cupcake adventure. The New Girl needed my parking space. 🙂 So, I went over to my sister’s. She lives a mile or 2 away from them. I even brought her a cuppycake!

We hung out for a couple of hours. We went to Trader Joes, she needed some groceries. And I like Trader Joes, I just never think to go there for some reason. I only end up going with her! It was nice. I love the fact that I can just go hang with her if I want.

I left there sometime around 9.

At some point during the day, hubby called to let me know that he was definitely going to be working all next week. HIP HIP FREAKING HOORAY!

But they are sending him to the Middle of nowhere Montana.

GRRRRRREAAAAT.

seriously, that sucks, but at this point it is completely welcome. And they are driving, which means extra hours for travel. WOo hoo!

anyway– I’m on the freeway… and I get a text message from the 12-year-old.

I glanced at it, and saw that it was really long. All I saw was..

“I wanted to tell you this in person, but you’re not home yet. I got my period….”

Wait, What?

O.M.G.

I am not prepared for this at all.

I dig in my purse for my ear thing for my phone. (As its illegals to talk on a non-handsfree device in CA) and call her.

It seems that it showed up after school. She didn’t tell my hubby, she didn’t call me, she just dealt with it on her own for 5 hours and then texted me about it.

all she kept saying is… “it’s so weird.”

Yes, it kind of is.

She handled it all very well. I guess we did an okay job preparing her for the big arrival. I was just hoping it would never happen.. or at least not for a while still. (Her mother started when she was 10, thank goodness that didn’t happen!)  I’ve talked to her about it, my mom has talked to her about it, and she’s heard about it at school and at Girl Scouts.

I’m not really sure how I feel about it, Its weird for me too, That she’s this grown up now. I almost cried about it when I was talking to one of BFF’s  about it. Where did the time go? She’s still 4 in my head sometimes.

I wonder if she’s going to tell her mother. I doubt it. The woman obviously didn’t want to talk to her about puberty at all…. She bought her a book about your body (I think it’s the American Girl’s Guide to your body) and they had been together when she gave it to her,and they were reading it, and she folded over the puberty pages and told her not to look at them, that I would talk to her about them. Nice huh?

Oh well… I guess that’s what I get for taking a day off. I am grateful for it. I needed some down time. especially since we will be back into single mom territory for a few days.

I guess I should go do some laundry so he can pack. and we have a big weekend ahead of us. My niece’s 1st birthday part tomorrow, and my parents are coming tomorrow night, and then sunday we make applesauce! I will have to tell you all about that later!

Nighty night!

Leave a Reply

