Hello night… we meet again.

So the last time I posted about my war between sleep and things that go bump in the night, the score was Sleep-1 Bumps in the Night-3.

As of right now it is Sleep-2 Bumps in the night-4. But the night is young.. it can still go either way. Last night was bad.

I was going to call it a draw – I fell asleep at about 1:30am. I consider anything before 2 golden anymore. I had a little freak out about 12:30.. I thought all was well. But nooooooooooo…. 2:16 am I awake with my heart pounding for no real reason I could make out. The Direct Tv box was resetting itself, which I thought was weird, but whatever. I think it must have been the click of it turning back on that woke me… maybe? Who knows.

I managed to fall back to sleep… briefly. 3:19 am- same thing happened. Woke up heart trying to pound its way out of my chest. I really HATE that feeling. All I really want is to sleep.. wonderful sleep, full of dreams of sugar-plum fairies and purring kittens… ahhh.. that would be so nice.

Moments after waking up the second time… the dog FREAKED out barking at something… complete with a huge noise- once again scaring the ever-loving-crap out of me. UGH. Breathe please. Remain clam. I’m fairly certain it was a cat again, or some other nocturnal critter. The big noise was him jumping up to chase said critter and hitting and moving the screen door (for the sliding patio doors). Stupid dog. Stupid critter. Stupid jumpy me.

When I went downstairs for the .. uh.. fourth time (I think) because he kept freaking out, I went to get a drink and noticed tha the clock on the stove was blinking… the power had gone off in those 45 minutes I was sleeping the first time. (Thank goodness I was sleeping.. I couldn’t have handled that.) But that explains the Direct tv resetting itself. Of course that just sent my brain and very vivid imagination into a tizzy. Ugh, Needless to say, I made sure there is a flashlight within my reach.

After tonight.. I only have 6 more nights to go until my hubby gets home. He will be home thursday morning. So long Hellaska! Hello Honey! I can’t even begin to put into words how excited I am to have him home. And its supposed to be for “a while.” But knowing the way these people operate, that could really mean anything. I would just appreciate a few weeks… get some much-needed rest. Get away from the children for some me time… ahhh….

Me time. What a novel concept. The grocery store without screaming, begging, grabbing… getting a coffee… going to the farmers market. Going anywhere for that matter, At this point – going to the dentist for a root canal BY MYSELF would be AWESOME.

After this whole experience, I have an incredible respect for single moms. I have no idea how they do it. They are awesome, I can not even fathom working full-time, taking care of the kids, running the house… doing it all, all alone, all the time. Kudos to those who do it! You are amazing.

It is now 1:18am. In the time I have been typing this the dog has barked crazily twice and I have developed some Dr.Pepper induced heart burn. Fun. I’m going to go find some Tums and then give this sleeping thing a whirl. I am pretty exhausted… three hours of sleep will do that, Let’s hope sleep wins this battle…

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

