Back to School Baby Mama Drama

So I havent really talked that much about my darling Step daughter yet…  when I started blogging she was away at camp, and then at Grandma’s house and now she is home.

Honestly I don’t know what I would have done without her these last couple weeks.  She is such a huge help with KT, especially since I was sick. I never would have gotten better if I didn’t have K  to keep an eye on her so I could get some sleep. I think I got so sick in the first place because I couldn’t just sleep it off.   At the same time there are days where she drives me crazy.  I think its because even after living together for the last 6 years, we are not wired the same at all and neither one of us gets the way the other thinks.  I always forget then when we are in the middle of one of our “fights.”

She is a pretty amazing kid.  She’s been through a lot in her 12 years. In a lot of ways she is wise beyond her years, and in a lot of ways she’s 6. But I guess that’s what it is to be a “Tween.”   She’s one of those super smart people that don’t have a whole lot of common sense… which is one of the things that drives me insane. But we’re working on that.  She is brave, out going, friendly, polite, …just to name a few.

I have  been her “Mom” for half of her life now. Which is a really weird to me sometimes. Weird that I have a 12 year old, and weird that sometimes it feels like she’s been with us forever since essentially she is my kid.  Her “Mother” aka “My Baby’s Mama” *LOL* is in and out… there are times she’s in her life and sometimes she’s out.   Which is something I will never understand. I can’t fathom how she can go months without talking her her own kid,  seeing her once a year.  I can’t stand it when she is at camp and I can’t talk to her for a week!  But anyway- she has been actually calling her on a semi-regular basis since January.  Honestly she’s talked to her more times in the last six months than she has talked to her in 6 years.  Its very sad actually.

The saddest part of the whole thing is that K gets it.  She’s wise enough in her 12 years that she knows how she is…. that she may not call for months, that she may call once a week or once a month.   She says she’s going to do a lot of things, and most of the time they don’t happen.  And now she’s finding out that she doesn’t actually listen to what she tells her when she does talk to her.

Hence the Back to school Baby Mama Drama.  I guess its really not so dramatic… it could be worse.

Baby Mama texted me a few days ago saying that she was going to send K a back to school package.  Sadly, Her mother’s idea of “being there” for her is sending her stuff that she doesn’t like or doesn’t need and will probably never use.  (Although- they have improved)  She was going to send her this “Awesome” backpack.  Mind you, we have already gotten everything K needs for school.  I offered to buy her a backpack, but she really likes the one she has and was excited about using it again- which she did tell her mother.

I showed K the picture and she said “Oh yea that’s awesome” dripping with sarcasm.  Then there were three more pictures of more back packs.. all equally as not appealing. One of them actually said “Love Kills Slowly” on it… Um.. that’s appropriate for the 12 year old to wear to school. NOT.   I was just going to let her do what ever she was going to do… but I decided to just be honest. I told her that she wouldn’t like any of them and didn’t want a new one anyway.  Surprisingly she was thankful that I told her, but she was still going to send her something.

We’ll see what actually shows up.  I’ll keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

